Saturday, March 28, 2026

WDW March 2026


My friend Dan had never been to WDW (he lives in Seattle, so he's a Disneyland guy) and a couple of years ago we started tossing around the idea of taking a trip together. We've been friends sine the summer of 2000 when we met at Space Camp; when C and I are in Seattle, we get together with Dan, and he's been to our house several times when he's come to the east coast for visits. As is often the case when trying to plan a friends trip anywhere, I wasn't sure we'd be able to make it happen, but when we actually booked everything last spring, I was super impressed with us! We chose this past weekend because Friday was a holiday at school, meaning we'd have a long weekend to do as much as possible at WDW!

We met at the Orlando airport on Thursday evening, took a lyft to WDW, checked in to Pop Century, too the skyliner to Epcot, and walked over to Beach Club for a late dinner reservation at Beaches and Cream. Clearly that was going to be a non-negotiable on my list of things to do!

I flew first class on my way down
to Florida - when I checked the seat map
a few days before my flight, there was an offer
to upgrade to first class for a very low
cost, so I decided to splurge :)

grabbed coffee while waiting for Dan's flight
to arrive on Thursday evening

Pop Century's lobby has been
reimagined and I love it!

to be honest, it felt kind of weird
to be in a hotel room by myself!


since we got there late on Thursday,
it was nice to see all of the icons
lit up as we walked over to the skyliner


some other pics from around the resort
that I took during our stay







late dinner on Thursday!

the annual easter egg display
had some great deigns, but obviously
this was my favorite

We spent Friday, Saturday, and part of Sunday at MK, Epcot, and DHS, with some rest and snack breaks along the way. We managed to accomplish a lot in the short time we had, hitting most of the major attractions and some classics! If you've ever read my other WDW posts, you know that C and I do not generally ever wait in long lines for anything, so it speaks to how much I wanted Dan to get on Guardians of the Galaxy (we waited for 2+ hours, even when we rope dropped Epcot with early entry and made an immediate beeline for the ride!), Peter Pan (we waited for just under an hour!), and Slinky Dog (we waited for 90+ minutes!)! We had also purchased Lightning Lane Multi Pass for all three days and an Individual Lightning Lane for Rise of the Resistance to optimize our time. We also lucked out with ridiculously beautiful weather the entire weekend!

We checked out of Pop Century on Sunday morning, leaving our bags at bell services so we could spend our final hours in the parks. On Sunday afternoon, Dan caught the airport shuttle from Pop Century at 3:00 and I was on my own! I took the skyliner to Epcot for a little while, then took the monorail and the ferry over to MK, which is where I ended the weekend at MK. After park close, I took a bus to Art of Animation around 11:30 pm, walked over to Pop Century, picked up my bag from bell services, and then took an uber to the airport at 1:00 am for my 5:05 am flight home.


I absolutely loathe this attraction,
but decided to give it a chance because it's been
updated since the last time I suffered
through it...didn't think it could be worse,
but I was wrong
0/10 stars







made sure Dan tried the Mickey beignets
at French Quarter

started Saturday with a
PB&J croissant











this is C's and my favorite drink at DHS,
so I bought one for each of us
and drank them both myself :)




saw Fantasic for the first time in forever
and it was wonderful!

ended Saturday with a
PB&J croissant












being back at DHS meant
getting another Cold Brew Black Caf





















I do NOT like there only being
one pair of shoes in this pic


on one ride on the People Mover,
all of the lights were on inside Space Mountain


then the ride stopped and all of
the lights came on temporarily


I rode it again and had an entire train to myself


Happily Ever After








my favorite character in all of
"it's a small world"


last snack of the trip

last ride of the trip





walked through AoA to get over to Pop Century


I was worried about issues at TSA; all of the posted info claimed that TSA would open at 4:00 am, and clearly I wasn't the only one with concerns, as the airport was filled with people sleeping on benches and chairs. I was honestly shocked by how many people were at the airport at 1:30 am.  At 3:00 am, TSA opened and people quickly got in the queues, with both sides of TSA (if you know MCO, you know what I mean) almost instantly filled with lines of 300+ people. With only less than 90 minutes until my flight boarded, I initially panicked a bit bc the line was not really moving, but then I noticed that way down at the end, there was one TSA PreCheck lane open, so I left the regular line, went over to the PreCheck line, and was through security in less than a minute. It was fantastic! My flight left on time, I landed at Dulles at 7:06 am, and because I was sitting in two 2, I was one of the first people off the plane. Because I know Dulles so well, and I was in a hurry because I had to get to school by 9:00, I was way ahead of the other passengers and ended up on the AeroTrain all by myself! C and Avalanche picked me up, we got home with just enough time for me to grab coffee and change, and then I was off to to work for the day!

watched cartoons in the lobby while
waiting for my 1:00 am uber to MCO

at the gate at 3:27 am

on the plane at 4:27 am

Frontier offers some rows up front
with the middle seat blocked out
1) genius!
2) while don't other airlines do this?


alone on the AeroTrain



best ride share driver ever...
and he had a cute dog in his car
100 / 10 stars


Was that entire event pretty mental of me? Yes. LOL!

Would I do it again? 100%!

I have spent the entire week operating on a sleep deficit as a result, but it was so worth it! Dan and I had a great time and I loved that he had the chance to experience WDW for the first time! We walked over 75,000 steps and more than 29 miles! Obviously there are million other things we could and seen and done, but that just gives him a reason to go back!

Happy Tails to you!

No comments:

Post a Comment